Wednesday, June 2, 2010


1er Campeonato Mundial de Futbol
1930 FIFA World Cup official poster

The 1930 FIFA World Cup was the inaugural edition of the world championship for international association football teams – the FIFA World Cup. It was played in Uruguay from 13 July to 30 July. Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) selected Uruguay as host nation as the country would be celebrating the centenary of its independence, and the Uruguay national football team had successfully retained their football title at the 1928 Summer Olympics. All matches were played in the Uruguayan capital, Montevideo, the majority at the Estadio Centenario, which was built for the tournament.

Thirteen teams, seven from South America, four from Europe and two from North America entered the tournament. Few European teams chose to participate due to the duration and cost of travel. The teams were divided into four groups, with the winner of each group progressing to the semi-finals. The first two World Cup matches took place simultaneously, and were won by France and the USA, who defeated Mexico 4–1 and Belgium 3–0, respectively. Lucien Laurent of France scored the first goal in World Cup history.

Argentina, Uruguay, the USA and Yugoslavia each won their respective groups to qualify for the semi-finals. In the final, hosts and pre-tournament favourites Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of a crowd of 93,000 people, and became the first nation to win a World Cup.  1934 FIFA World Cup FinalEvent 1934 FIFA World CupCzechoslovakia. Italy 1 2

1934 FIFA World Cup Final
The 1934 FIFA World Cup Final was the deciding match of the 1934 FIFA World Cup. It was contested by Italy and Czechoslovakia. Italy won the game 2-1.

The final was held in the Stadio Nazionale PNF in Rome. Czechoslovakia took the lead with 15 minutes remaining through Puč. They held the lead for only 5 minutes though as Italy drew level through striker Orsi. There were no more goals in normal time so the match was forced to go into extra time. With just 5 minutes played in extra time, Italy took the lead with a goal from Schiavio and they held on to record their first World Cup title.

No comments:

Post a Comment